Mom’s the word…

In honor of Mother’s Day, we sat down with some of our faculty and staff to find out what they love about being mothers.

Sue Samuels, Jazz Faculty

Samuels_Sue
Sue (R) with children Elka and Jason and their dad JoJo Smith (L).
Samuels_Sue2
Sue with daughter Elka (R) and grandchildren Kaya and Zion.

Mother’s Day is an important day to me because of my children Elka and Jason! My children were “studio children”, and were in my class sitting on the floor doing their homework after school every day. I didn’t even think they were watching the dancing. They never danced in my class at that time. Then, one day, Frank Hatchett invited me to teach in his children’s program, and for Elka and Jason to take classes. They haven’t stopped dancing since!  Now my grandchildren are in my dance classes and in the BDC CTP! I love Broadway Dance Center for always supporting me and my family.

Allie Beach, Director of Youth Programming 

Beach_Allie 2
Allie with son Jordan

Being a mom is the one of the greatest privileges on this earth. And I am SO grateful that my son has the opportunity to grow up in the studio around wonderfully diverse friends, and people who are artistic and creative and who care about him. There’s a lot of love for my son within those BDC walls, and I’m grateful that we can call our dance community family!

Nicole Falabella, Scheduling Director

Klerer_Nicole
Nicole’s daughter Kylie Saige

The best part about being a mom is the moment your baby cracks their first smile, and all your sleepless nights and months of planning are forgotten!

Dawn Rumbaugh, Director of Operations

Dawn
Dawn with her kids Christy and Ryan

The best part of my life is my two beautiful amazing loving kids! Christy and Ryan — you have taught me so much about life and given me so much love and happiness!! I love you both more than words can express!

Ginger Cox, Jazz Faculty

Ginger and Jack
Ginger with her son Jack.

I love being a mom! Jack and I have such a great time together. I’ve learned so much from my fellow moms (and dads) at BDC! I’m so thankful that I can bring him with me to the studio. Jack loves dance, loud music, and being at BDC. Except once, when he was 3 years old, he started having a tantrum, freaking out and taking off all his clothes! Thankfully Danielle (a past manager) rescued me, and took him for a walk to cool down!

Jill Kenney, Tap Faculty

I’ve only been a mom for 8 weeks, but there is nothing more amazing than holding my little bundle of joy and seeing him smile each day. Even his little pout is the cutest thing in the world to me! Sometimes I can’t handle how much I adore him. As a new mom, I’ve been bombarded with so many life changes, but he is well worth the challenges that each day brings. I love him to pieces and I think he’s starting to like me a little too.

Jessica Epting, Ballet Faculty

1621952_10153845014870019_115793608_n
Jessica (R) with husband Jason and their kids Creighton, Cadence and Maxwell (L to R).

“Life is not only meant to be appreciated in retrospect . . . There is something each day to embrace and cherish.” —Dieter F. Uchtdorf

I find motherhood an exhausting, thrilling, challenging and rewarding honor! I love living alongside these little people!

Shelly Hutchinson, Jazz Faculty

Shelly
Shelly’s sons Colin and Jeep

I used to be able to dedicate time each day to a creation station in the studio… and then I had 2 babies. So I make it work. Now we improv everyday wherever we can. Toddlers have the coolest, most rare movements and moments. Bringing the best of both of my worlds together — can’t go wrong with that!

Diane King, Executive Director

Diane copy
Diane with daughter Olivia

I love being a mom as it puts your own life in perspective and you have to shift your priorities. There’s nothing like the cuddles and love from my daughter!

We wish all of our BDC moms a HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

