Click! Flash! – dancers go behind the camera

I got into photography when I first went to NYU and my mother (also a photographer) gave me her DSLR camera. Attending NYU was essentially like moving to New York City as an 18-year-old, which can be VERY scary; having the camera helped to distract me from the difficulties of adjusting to a very different and tiring lifestyle.

Since then, I have taken several photography courses both at NYU and around the city. I spent the summer of 2009 studying abroad in Italy and had my camera glued to my side at all times (I kept a photo blog that summer, unabellaestate.blogspot.com). Although I have been a photographer for a while, I didn’t think to start taking headshots until recently. I would see people post their headshots on facebook (knowing that they spent HUNDREDS of dollars getting them taken) and think “Hey…I can take that shot!” So I had a few pretty friends experiment with me, taught myself portrait retouching in photoshop, and viola! I was cranking out headshots no problem.

I offer headshots for a very affordable rate of $150. I want to help my fellow dancers/actors/singers get beautiful shots without paying a month’s rent to get them. I love being behind the camera and helping people to really shine through the photographs, and post production (which some photographers groan about) is a ton of fun for me. I am so excited to be able to turn this passion of mine into a small business – if I’m not on stage dancing, I want to be taking pictures!

www.lvphotoanddesign.com

Laura is an alum of the Summer Intern Program at Broadway Dance Center (2008).  This Fall she will be heading on tour to perform in “West Side Story.”

